from tropical Rurranabaque - Reisverslag uit Rurrenabaque, Bolivia van Chantal van Liere - WaarBenJij.nu from tropical Rurranabaque - Reisverslag uit Rurrenabaque, Bolivia van Chantal van Liere - WaarBenJij.nu

from tropical Rurranabaque

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Chantal

21 Maart 2015 | Bolivia, Rurrenabaque

Hola!

Here I am unexpectedly again. At the moment I was supposed to be in the local community of San Miguel del Bala for my volunteerwork at the local community, but I am still one more night in the "normal" modern world in the town of Rurranabaque.

One more night in a bed and a shower with warm water. \

At the moment I am at a local bar drinking a pisco sour! Since this is at low altitude I can drink again and have extra energy as well :-)
I arrived here at 1340 with a very small propeller plane. One seat on each side and a small path in the middle. In the plane I met Ben, a guy from Belgium who lives in Switzerland and who will do the same volunteering as me, only for a month.

There was also a young Dutch couple in the plane and the rest was filled with a noisy group from Israel. Screaming girls when the plane moved a bit.

The airport was very small and the luggage went inmediately from the nose of the plane to the bus. Took a taxi to the town and then there was a horrible strong sand storm! I didn't expect this here!

Branches fell of trees and even roofs fell to the ground. When me and Ben arrived, the tour agency was still closed, so we stayed in a restaurant next door. It rained outside and the power was gone.

When the travel agency finally opened the guy who was the owner was not there yet and the girls didn't know about our reservation.

We were told to return at 16 o clock. So we went on a stroll through town together with Oksana, a girl from Siberia which we met this afternoon. Had some beers and crisps at a small store that had plastic tables outside.

Back at the agency the guy told us that in the community there was also bad weather and he couldn't arrive earlier and that we couldn't travel to San Miguel del Bala anymore today. So we checked in a hotel.

Later the three of us had dinner and then went for some shopping: 6 big bottles of water to bring to the community tomorrow since there won't be drinking water. Oksana went to the bus station and me and Ben went for another drink.

He already went back to the hotel since he hardly slept last night. I am also glad I can sleep in a normal bed again, after the nightbus (from Uyuni to La Paz last night). This bar is nice, with a palm thatched roof and nice music and a nice temperature. So different then the snow of yesterday!

I finally put some photos of the Uyuni tour in the blog. More and nicer pictures are on my camera, but these will be posted later. Enjoy the rest of your weekend! Love from Rurranabaque.


And the electricity went and now it is very very dark. Fortunately we have candles but how will I walk home safely.?.. It is very dark outside and I cannot post my blog now... So, hope the electricity comes back soon... It's only 20:30 now and absolutely pitch black!

I must have my headlight somewhere.... Like this I can already get used to having no electricity tomorrow night.


And now the electricity is back after 15 minutes or so :-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Chantal

Actief sinds 06 Maart 2015
Verslag gelezen: 216
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8874

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Maart 2015 - 14 April 2015

Chantal goes Bolivia

Landen bezocht: