sick in Sucre - Reisverslag uit Sucre, Bolivia van Chantal van Liere - WaarBenJij.nu sick in Sucre - Reisverslag uit Sucre, Bolivia van Chantal van Liere - WaarBenJij.nu

sick in Sucre

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Chantal

29 Maart 2015 | Bolivia, Sucre

Hola!

I back from the Amazone and in the "normal" world again. I arrived yesterday afternoon in Sucre after a boat trip (canoe) and 3 flights and since then I am a bit ill.

Probably because I hardly slept during my last night in San Miguel del Bala and then went from 30degrees and low altitude to 6 degrees and 4000m!!! in La Paz airport where I had to wait for 4 hours till my next flight. I was shivering and had a headache from the altitude, so drunk mate de coca to stay warm.

Met a friendly girl from Germany (Christina) there, so that was nice. Then another flight of only 30 minutes to hot and low Cochabamba. During this flight I was so tired and my bowels had problems too. In Cochabamba I had to wait another 30 minutes and then another 40min flight to Sucre (2500m, 16 degrees). Slept most of the flight, feeling sick. Then somebody picked me up from the airport and brought me to the house I am staying now, of a family: Sylvia and her 25 year old son Fernando.

There is another Dutch guy here (Jessy) and a girl from Sweden.

And till this morning there was Paul, an English guy. But he left today to a hotel since a new person will arrive. I met Paul and Jessy already before when Christianne stayed in the same house.

Went to bed inmediately since I was ill and slept for 2 hours. So tired! Too tired to go out I ordered a pizza. And then I went to sleep again from 2030 taking asperine and anti-diarrhea medication.

Slept pretty well. I feel much better then yesterday, but still a it weak and tired and with heavy stomach pains once in a while. Now I am lying in bed while writing this.

Today are the elections so most restaurants and the supermarket and laundry (which I desperately need) are closed. I went for a stroll early afternoon, empty streets, election posters everywhere (voting for elections is obligatory here) and children cycling and paying soccer in the middle of the streets.

Luckily some little shops were open so I could buy water and breakfast (found soya milk and oatmeal with chia seed) for tomorrow morning. The market was closed but in front of the market building formed another market on the street.

Since today is "Dia de Ramos" (don't know the English word, but it has to do with Eastwr) many people were selling crosses made of palm leaves. They told me that there would be a mass tonight and then the priest would bless these crosses. Also found a little cafe open for lunch. Had a camomile tea (good for stomach) and a veggie sandwich. Nice! Then I went home to rest some more. Maybe I will go out later for some dinner and then go to bed early again.

Tomorrow my volunteering week here in Sucre starts so I have to be better. Wish me luck!

I will write later about my experience in the Amazone village of San Miguel del Bala. Quite tired now. But it was nice and the family friendly. It was also hot and full of insects (have insect bites everywhere).
But also nice to have slept in a normal soft bed and to have a (warm) shower again.

Will write more later.

Chantal

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Chantal

Actief sinds 06 Maart 2015
Verslag gelezen: 184
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8887

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Maart 2015 - 14 April 2015

Chantal goes Bolivia

Landen bezocht: